Commentary: Columbia State deserves a new building … in Columbia

The state of Tennessee last invested in and built a major new building on Columbia State Community College’s main campus nearly 20 years ago.

The Waymon L. Hickman Building was dedicated in 2001, home of the Cherry Theater and the college’s arts and music programs.

Columbia State, which has campuses in Columbia, Williamson County, Lewisburg, Clifton and Lawrenceburg, was not bursting at the seams by any means over the last two decades.

The advent of Tennessee Promise, which offers two years of free tuition at the state’s community and technical colleges, changed everything in 2014. Demand never has been higher.

Read more

Premium Employers